Bracing

photo (12)

I have been bracing myself for this week for months. I cancelled almost all my normal responsibilities because the “once in a crazy while” stuff had all piled itself onto 7 little days like a freak blizzard.

And just to add to the already crazy week –  like in a movie, the scary music started up over the weekend.

the geo thermal unit died and hubby had to go on a business trip…

the geo thermal tubes aren’t long enough and there isn’t a gas line to the house to switch to a regular furnace…

the daughter with the lead in the musical got a sore throat…

Yesterday the little one let the dog out while the geo man was walking through the poop filled yard looking for the missing gas line and the dog and the geo man stepped in poop and then came inside – only one said sorry, the other one just ran around the entire house…

chief

the dog wouldn’t sleep at the foot of my bed because he was pouting about the yelling that happened after the poop…

and some other things like burning food, cutting fingers, and broken cell phone screens happened too.

You might be surprised to find out that when I stumbled to the mirror this morning to shove in my 2 week disposable contacts that are currently 2 years old, I smiled.

The day after the geo thermal died, the weather broke and it’s 60 degrees today but just in case friends brought over 3 space heaters to add to the 2 we had.

Each day since Ben has been gone I’ve gotten a card in the mail – a gift card, some money for a date night, a note of encouragement.

The sore throat is gone and the daughter sounds beautiful. Cry my eyes out proud kind of beautiful.

have

That old saying “the devil is in the details” keeps coming to mind. I keep seeing the Lord in the details this week.

I hesitate to ask God to be present in what feels like unimportant details. I forget He doesn’t have my limited resources. I pray for Him to heal Ebola and Syria and think surely He doesn’t have time to heal furnaces and throats. And I’m wrong.

He has been mindful of little me here in nowhere Illinois. He has brought grace even as I braced myself to bare the absence of it.

Psalm 8: 3-4

When I look at the night sky and see the work of your fingers—  

the moon and the stars you set in place—

what are mere mortals that you should think about them, 

human beings that you should care for them?

Leave a Reply

