Too deep for words

In the same way the Spirit also helps our weakness; for we do not know how to pray as we should, but the Spirit Himself intercedes for us with groanings too deep for words.

Romans 8:26 is a comforting verse because I do sit before the Lord without words  – sometimes because I can’t feel, or because I’m feeling too much. I can even sit before the Lord and feel private – kinda not ready to share a developing hope or fear.

It’s been a quiet summer in the prayer “walk-in” closet. Not for lack of things to pray for  – loved ones facing cancer, losing children, losing parents – others contemplating divorce, losing custody battles – my own kids struggling with our move.

It’s been a quiet summer here at Sassy Pants too, primarily because I haven’t had any words. I’ve been using the word sluggish to describe myself. I knew it was really bad when I actually went to the doctor to rule out anything serious, and I also – gasp – started to exercise – just to try and feel normal again.

Recently the Lord convicted me that “feeling normal” again shouldn’t be my goal. Sure, I’d like more energy and less stress, but that isn’t something promised me as a child of God. His presence in the midst of my circumstances is. It’s a form of idolatry to desire freedom from the cares and concerns of those around me. It’s serving and worshiping and protecting my own capacity so I can spend it as I choose.

So, welcome to my quiet corner where I am wordlessly praying and living out a season of transition and concern and not striving for words and normal and energy.

 

 

 

 

2 thoughts on “Too deep for words

  1. Amy says:

    You put into words, what I’ve been feeling but couldn’t express 😉 It was such a blessing to see you the past weekend. I always appreciate your listening ear and wisdom.

  2. Steph says:

    We may live worlds apart, but I know this place so so well. It is a hard thing to realize something you think as basic as “normalcy” is not guaranteed, nor your right nor coming any time soon (= My fav fav book on this topic is Elisabeth Elliot’s A Path Through Suffering.

Leave a Reply

