Fear

Isn’t it funny how our “issues” leak into strange places in life. Take mine for example. Fear. I am afraid. In a very general sense. I am a worse case scenario person. The other day Ben was reminiscing about swimming in the ocean and I was nodding and smiling and thinking, “Sharks. Jellyfish. Riptides.”

I fight it. I pray about it. I work on it. I win lots and lots, as evidenced by the fact that I have also gone swimming in the ocean and I will enjoy watching our kids someday frolic in the ocean (but I may also make Ben tie himself to them and arm myself with a shepherds crook.)

Here’s were its strange though. Home decorating? Seriously? How could fear run over into this area? Of course, I have found a way…

I am so afraid of making a terrible mistake decorating, that I somewhere along the line decided I just wouldn’t. Sure, I pick up things I like and rearrange things I like, but I have no plan. I am afraid to make a plan. What if it exposes that I have a terrible sense of style??? 

Well, I won a little battle recently. I did make a little decorating plan. I found a few throw pillows I loved, and then asked Hunky Hubby to paint some furniture to match the pillow. We now have a brick red bookcase and a mustard yellow table with blueish/grayish chairs in a little grouping. The pillows are on the futon couch in the same room. I like it! It was fun. I am on a role!

I found a bedspread for Haven since she is moving to a queen size bed at the new house and Ben is painting a dresser teal to match it. And we decided to make her closet into a reading nook and we are going to paint the inside of the closet a very fun shade of green. I am so excited. I am not scared!

I am so dumb. 🙂

I knew you all would celebrate this with me though! I’ll post some pics when we are all done!

 

2 thoughts on “Fear

  1. Jess! I have a video for you to watch!! Our pastor has been doing a series on fear, and this week they did a short video (2, maybe 3 minutes?) to put a face on fear. You describe exactly how I feel in many situations (don’t get me started on the ocean!!), and the video felt like it was perfectly tailored to me. I think you’d like it. It’s in the sermon video, but it’s the very first thing in the video, so it’s easy to get to.

    If you go here
    http://www.eastviewchurch.net/media/messages-podcasts/

    and then choose “play video” from the sermon called, “Not Afraid in Fearful Situations,” you can watch it.

    Your decorating sounds beautiful! Looking forward to pictures.

Leave a Reply

