Grateful – The Bloggy World

I’m very grateful for my small (tiny, actually) place in the virtual world. My blog gives me a place to organize my thoughts, record my memories, and offer myself in a small (ok, tiny) way to my friends.

Confession – I have a small (again, tiny is better a word) capacity for deep relationships. I love them. I work hard in them. But, I can only do a few at a time. I’ve always been like that and it kinda works for the type of work I do.

I can remember floating from “best friend” to “best friend” as a child. Nothing bad happened, there were rarely disagreements, I just tended to stick to people for awhile and then get caught up in some wind and find myself stuck to someone else. I’m sure this was very annoying to my peers. I was oblivious.

I’m not oblivious now. I’ve had plenty of friends share their disappointments with me over the years. Disappointed that I loved them for a season and then seemed to drift away. Disappointed that I would initiate for a while, and then wouldn’t. I try much harder now to bring intentionality to my relationships and bounce around less. Actually, I’ve lost the ability to bounce. Must be the age thing. 🙂

Anyway, couple this with my work which requires me to be basically live and breathe a few women at a time for a season as a disciple-maker, (which I love, by the way) and you have a recipe for potential disaster.

There are many precious women out there who have let me into their inner world – shared with me their heart, past, hopes, and insights into the Word. I don’t take that lightly, but those relationships almost always come to some sort of natural transition. Either they move, I move, or they realize I’m not nearly as wise and gifted as they maybe thought at first. Hee Hee.

But s0 – then what? How do I stay connected? Well, I can’t. (Here’s where the small relational capacity thing comes in.) Not in the way I want to.

So, here’s what I do.

When I sit down to write – it’s almost always just what I would tell you if we were together – chatting while our kids played, or out to coffee. It’s not perfect…

…It is  one sided, (unless YOU have a blog, and if you do, you can betcha money I read it. I may not comment often, but I’m probably up-to-date.)

…and can never replace a phone call (which I can not do…but I do text. Yeah!!),

…or letter (which I could do if my handwriting hadn’t recently taken a very sad turn for the worse),

…or visit (which I OFTEN do do, dragging my three kids behind me),

but it’s my very best effort considering my handicaps and introverted nature.

I hope you can forgive me my faults and stick with me here in bloggy land until we see each other again. I’m VERY grateful for each one of you.

What about the bloggy world are you grateful for?

Has it added anything to your life? Tell me in the comment section!

2 thoughts on “Grateful – The Bloggy World

  1. Amy says:

    Jess,

    I really enjoy being able to hear other people’s voices through their blogs…some people (such as yourself) are such gifted writers. I am grateful to take a few mins out of my day to “relate” to others in a way that I find satisfying. Sometimes it’s nice for communication to be one sided…

    PS – I definitely relate to this post….

  2. San Antonio Megan says:

    As one of those “transitional” best friends, and one of those people who does that very same thing (I think of it as blooming where you’re planted!), I have to say I am totally okay with how you are wired. I love you, pray for you, miss you, and I know you feel all those same things about me :). Now if we could work on the “seeing each other” part, that would be great, but Texas is a long way from Illinois! Hope we get a chance to chat tonight or Sunday!!

Leave a Reply

