Grateful

I’m hoping to start a little series here in preparation for Thanksgiving. Feel free to join in via the comment section!

Question: What about your Mom’s cooking are you grateful for?

I’m super grateful that I ate a hot, home cooked meal, every single night growing up.

Meat. Potato. Salad.

The benefits of my mom cooking this simple fare each night are with me today. I cook every night. My taste is for simple dishes. We don’t eat much processed food because I don’t care for it, largely because my Mom didn’t buy it for me.

Thanks Mom for all the baked potatoes, and roasts you made for all those years. Thanks for not buying sugary cereal and for always having fruit and cheese in the fridge. Ben’s side of the family has provided the missing passion for veggies and all is well. 🙂 (Thanks Kay!!)

In these tough financial times, it’s hard to stay the course and choose less over more “junk.” Thanks Mom (and Kay) for helping to hardwire me and my family so we can be healthy and enjoy food.

 

 

 

5 thoughts on “Grateful

  1. I’m grateful for her fabulous Mac & Cheese recipe…the one I always thought my Granny made at family gatherings, but it was actually my Mom every time! 😉

  2. Breakfast.

    My mom made us a hot breakfast every school day of our lives. I attribute any success in life I have ever had to my hot breakfasts….Pancakes, french toast, eggs, oatmeal, cream of wheat, hot rice with cinnamon and raisins, tea and toast with homemade jam….Eaten at the table, with a tablecloth on it, as a family.

    It took me a long time to realize that because my dad owned a store, and our school didn’t start until 8:45, that she had a little more time than I do in the morning. So I don’t always serve a complicated breakfast, but no kid leaves this house without their belly full to start the day, usually something warm.

  3. Steph says:

    Mine would be similar to yours, Jess. My mom hardly ever purchased packaged food as it wasn’t popular in Hong Kong in the 70s and 80s. I’m sure it is all there now. She calls her self a “simple farm cook” and that would be it. Great basic stuff. And we also had a hot breakfast every morning as well! My friends just can’t believe that. Of course, dear Layla goes to school with just a bowl of cornflakes, but I’m still getting my feet under me (= Another thing – she TAUGHT us how to cook. So many friends I know were kept out of the kitchen because it was a hassle to have them in there. Boy howdy do I get that. I’m grateful my mom taught me how to cook.

Leave a Reply

