NIU PRAYS

Our campus ministry, NIU NAVS is hosting an event tonight called NIU PRAYS – in response to the murder of one of our students, and out of a desire to seek God’s mercy for NIU’s campus in its entirety. At 5 tonight students representing several different campus ministry groups will gather together and then spread out in groups of 2 and 3 to blanket the campus with prayer.

Right before Ben commissions the students to begin praying over the campus, he will lead them in singing, “It is Well with My Soul.”

What a beautiful picture for NIU’s student body to see – other students who have walked through shooting sprees, suicides, murders, and who, like them, don’t know what more will come – still proclaiming their trust in Him.

  1. When peace, like a river, attendeth my way,
    When sorrows like sea billows roll;
    Whatever my lot, Thou has taught me to say,
    It is well, it is well, with my soul. 

    • Refrain:
      It is well, with my soul,
      It is well, it is well, with my soul.
  2. Though Satan should buffet, though trials should come,
    Let this blest assurance control,
    That Christ has regarded my helpless estate,
    And hath shed His own blood for my soul.
  3. My sin, oh, the bliss of this glorious thought!
    My sin, not in part but the whole,
    Is nailed to the cross, and I bear it no more,
    Praise the Lord, praise the Lord, O my soul!
  4. And Lord, haste the day when my faith shall be sight,
    The clouds be rolled back as a scroll;
    The trump shall resound, and the Lord shall descend,
    Even so, it is well with my soul.

If you think to – would you pray along with us this evening,

  • that God would fill believing students with the faith to find peace and security in their salvation
  • that in the midst of a campus community stricken with fear, that despite the real dangers and snares at NIU, their hope-filled souls could offer comfort to others
  • that God would help students who are numb to the reality of their souls despair to feel the hopelessness that exists apart from Christ and seek Him
  • that God would be pleased by our humble display of allegiance to Him
  • that God would hear our cries for mercy in the midst of all the corporate and personal recklessness that exists on the campus
  • and for the family and friends of the student recently killed – Toni Keller.

One thought on “NIU PRAYS

Leave a Reply

