Work Day

These are the questions I ask myself all day. These questions comprise 95% of my brain power every day.

1. Why am I doing what I’m doing?

2. Why do I value what I value?

3. Why do I respond the way I do?

After years and years of thinking about these questions in regards to every single area of my life, I know there are some days I simply can not. Can not think. Must only do.

Today is one of those days. It’s incredibly counter-productive to think today for various reasons. I will not think. I will only do. I will only produce. I will only work. I will only check off.

Tomorrow I’ll do a quick a.m. heart scan to see if it’s OK to start up again. We’ll see.

Any of you need a “do only” day?

2 thoughts on “Work Day

  1. Kristin says:

    Yes, I do have those regularly. I am not allowed to answer unexpected phone calls or make major decisions on those days! But honestly, I am glad to be old enough to KNOW this about myself. Saves a lot of grief!

  2. Steph says:

    wow. I think that after having a baby you are supposed to have 4 months of “do only” days.

    I heard a sermon the other day on suffering and Hebrews and he said that sometimes your life/days are made up of “Do the right thing, do the next thing”. That has been my mantra for awhile. Of course, i don’t always know the “right” thing to do, but in combination with your great quote, as long as I am not thinking too much (!) i know what the right thing is (=

Leave a Reply

