Breathtaking

Caution: unedited ramblings of a mommy with 3 small children ahead…

Genesis 1:2

The earth was without form and void, and darkness was over the face of the deep.
And the Spirit of God was hovering over the face of the waters.

I’ll let you in on a little secret. I’m a sucker for systems. I love, love, love a good system where efficiency, quality, control are in perfect balance. My real life doesn’t necessarily reflect that since I have owned up on this very blog that I occasionally don’t have clean underwear – bad system – and that if you open up a few cabinets in this home you might get really seriously hurt by something falling out from some precarious place – bad system – or because Ben and I have still not settled on who is responsable for cleaning the van. I say him – because the van is technically outside of the “house” – he says me – since I drive it – bad system.

Anyway – systems. Good systems are life supporting, in my life and the whole of creation. They exist to promote health, order, balance, efficiency, peace. Bad systems produce stress, chaos, prejudice, inequality, illness, (and very stinky vans.)

None of us can live without the systems God has set up for us.  But God can exist, and thrive, and be outside of any system because He is a healthy, balanced, peaceful system in and of Himself. He hovered above the as yet created system of our heavens and earth and was.

I’m completely overwhelmed by this. I see my finiteness, my dependency on all of God’s systems and structures in a new way. I feel connected to God as part of His creation in a tangible way. As lofty as I think I am, I am dust, dependent on God’s creation to support my breath, give me food, and regenerate my skin cells. I can not be separated from His creation apart from my physical death. I can not rise above it, or transcend it, or release myself from it. I can only believe that God, through Christ, has transferred me into His “other” heavenly system and that after my physical death I will remain with Him, in whatever other supportive structure He chooses for our eternity together – unless Jesus comes back in May 2011. Ha Ha.

But anyway, pardon my ramblings, but for some reason I’m more inspired to live large and take steps of faith in light of this reality. I feel a little braver somehow. Despite the obvious broken systems I will live alongside of on this earth, think how many, many, more good ones exist to support me and give me life.And then there is my God, who created the whole darn thing.

Breathtaking.

3 thoughts on “Breathtaking

  1. I am always in awe when I learn about God’s amazing fine-tuning of the universe, how He created it with such precision and beauty just for us. Just for me. Incredible.

    On a completely different note, I wrote about you on my blog this weekend 🙂

Leave a Reply

