Fun

I had lunch with some college buddies today. We were at a nice little restaurant with a very attentive waiter. Actually, a little too attentive, if you know what I mean. He was not picking up on our sighs, pert smiles, and lack of eye contact. We were not all that interested in the history of Cherry Coke. Oh, well. Next time I have a slice of time with important people and I’m at a restaurant I’m gonna make a little “do-not-disturb” sign with my napkin.

It felt good to say “The Most Important Things” to these trusted friends. In summing up several years and many turns and tangles – I had many blessing to share.

It was fun to see how we all fit together again. I have missed them and have found deep friendships much harder to start and maintain in these later seasons of life. But, I’m also thankful to have married well with fellowship and camaraderie at the dinner table most nights of the week.

We, of course, talked about all our wonderful kids and it got me thinking. Motherhood has done great things for me. I really like the areas God has shaped in my life through my kids. I think I want some more babies.

There I said it.

I have a bit of a secret  fleece I’m waiting on, but I’ll give you a hint. If one particular friend whose name starts with N and rhymes with “less” will have a baby too, I’m all in. Just kidding.

Kinda.

10 thoughts on “Fun

  1. jessdager says:

    Ness, – I guess I feel like I need a buddy in this for some reason and most women “my age” feel really done having kids. You are just about the only one who I think feels at least like the door is not completely shut. You know? I really am kidding about you being my fleece though. No pressure.:)

  2. Jeanna (Beaner) says:

    Jess….I really hear you. With 9 & 11 year old kids, I feel done. Mostly. But i wouldn’t object if another baby came along…except I’m also ready to move to this next stage of life too, esp. with the freedom I will gain for time alone with Dwight. I have started watching a 4-month-old a couple times a week in my home. I’m hoping that he will be my “baby fix”!
    I think I understand why some women can’t wait to be grandparents!!!

  3. Jess, you are not alone! As one who is JUST one month younger than you, I don’t feel done, either! Okay, so my youngest is only 6 months old, but in my heart I’m already praying about the next one… Most of my friends think I’m borderline nuts, but I also see how God uses my kids more than anything else in my life to shape and teach me.
    So you take the leap, and maybe I’ll jump in after you. 🙂

  4. Hmm, I did use the word “maybe”… Does God honor pinky swears??? But yeah, if it were totally up to me, then you got a buddy here! Can it be our little secret at least til my baby turns a year old?

  5. jessdager says:

    OK. 🙂 I’m still a bit on the fence myself. We were so spontaneous with our first two, then a little more practical with the third – and now it would be a true act of faith in some ways to go ahead and have some more.

  6. Kristin says:

    I know I said this last year and we never got it done, but we should have coffee… I am on the fence, too. We could bounce our thoughts off each other!

Leave a Reply

