And then fall happened…

I can’t even TELL you how completely and utterly unprepared I was for the fall. One day I was lingering at the pool, the next I was having a panic attack in Walmart searching for 24 pack Crayola crayons – “NOT ROSE ART BRAND MOM!!!”

Here’s a little peek into family life as we bumble and stumble our way through the busiest season of all for a family in collegiate ministry…

 

Someone in the family thought it was a good idea to sign all 3 kids up for soccer because that is streamlined and efficient and fun!! Oh, and let’s sign up Ben to coach too!

 Overall, soccer has been wonderful – but little did I realize having 3 kids in soccer would mean 3 different practice times during the week and 3 different game times EVERY SATURDAY UNTIL NOVEMBER. Holy Cow. I guess I’ll read the informational packet next time!

One lovely evening we decided to go out and try to get a good family picture for our prayer card. This was the best we could do after a long night of wrangling kids and promising candy if they would just HOLD STILL!!!

Everyone finally got serious (and Libby got a little TOO serious and found something really interesting in the parking lot to look at very intensely) and we got this one which I think will work.

 

And then…gulp…my baby started kindergarten on my 36th birthday.  It’s half-day school though, so we still get some bonding time in the afternoons. PHEW!

The other two started a few days later. Haven was thrilled and Tim made me feel like I was the ultimate traitor for sending him to 1st grade. I think he’s getting in the groove now though – I hope. 7-year-old boys are hard to navigate. One moment they love you, the next you are evil and they have a hard time sitting next to you at dinner. I’m confused.

And so, the blue van and I are back on duty each morning. We are still making the final cuts regarding fall activities, my involvement on campus, my growing piano studio, life, margin, students, people, hospitality, chickens, etc. – but we are getting close.

Rereading Edith Schaeffer’s, What is a Family is helping. Anybody read this one before?

3 thoughts on “And then fall happened…

  1. Heidi says:

    Jess,

    The family looks great and the kids are growing so fast! Soccer is the best (I’m biased), and I know just what you mean by shuffling more than one kid to practice! 🙂

  2. Jeanna (Beaner) says:

    I have to admit that I am feeling some anger over the soccer season this year. My kids have been in soccer for YEARS now & I can master 4 practices a week, but i am really feeling upset that the 6 most beautiful Saturdays in Fall will have me just sitting watching soccer all day (because their games are usually spread out, so it takes up the whole day.)
    UGH! I am not doing well on my quest to be positive about this!

  3. Kristin says:

    I think that vans should come with an espresso system built in. How helpful would that be?? We always avoided sports with the girls because of the schedule. So we gained that time, BUT my kids have no idea what it’s like to participate in organized sports. It’s a give and take.

Leave a Reply

