When you have a home-body…

Do you have a home-body in your family? Take this quick quiz to find out.

1. Does he/she become grouchy right before and right after trips?

2. Does having people in your home zap him/her of energy?

3. Is his/her room used as a haven, i.e. more than a place just to stash stuff, but a place to get away too?

4. Does going out, even for a quick errand, seem like misery to him/her?

I can answer yes, yes, yes, and yes for one of my kiddos. We just returned from a long trip away from home where we interacted with lots of people. One of my kids is in serious re-entry fatigue mode. He is tired, grouchy, and a little on the angry side. Yesterday we went round and round…and round. He was acting like he was missing some important nutrient and couldn’t function. Then I remembered. He’s my home-body. He is getting his feet back on the ground after this long trip. He’s still feeling unsettled. He’s can’t transition quickly and he’d be happy if he didn’t have to interact with anyone for about 5 days.

Well, he has 2 hours before our lunch company comes, but while the girls are at VBS the next couple of mornings, Tim will have a chance to regroup and recharge. At first I felt bad for not forcing him to go along, but I honestly think time alone will be more spiritually nourishing for him.

Friends – do you have any home-bodies in your family? What do you do to help them?

3 thoughts on “When you have a home-body…

  1. um. that would be me. I think there should be extra stars and rainbows for days that I don’t have to go out. I incidentally have not had one for way too long and I am on the verge of nuttiness at any moment.

    Long hours of unstructured time are good for the soul of the home body.

    I paint. I mosaic. I putter. Bliss.

    None of the kids seems to have this quirk. They drag me out when I get too mossy.

  2. Elisa says:

    I am that home-body too! My mom gently explained to me the pattern of my frustrations around traveling and time with people, so that I wasn’t unaware of why I was cranky. 🙂 I used to take my soccer ball and jog out around our fields for hours by myself to get some alone time to refresh. And Mom conveniently gave me times alone at home-entirely alone-that I cherished dearly even at a young age. So… don’t know if those will appeal to your little dude, but they sure were a blessing to my introverted youth! Soooooo good to see you yesterday. 🙂

  3. Jeanna (Beaner) says:

    that’s me too. I like to sit on my porch swing or read. I like to clean BEFORE long trips so I can come home & not have to get back into the routine right away.

Leave a Reply

