If you send it, we will come…

Getting home late tonight from a great graduation party. One of our favorite (well, I guess they are all our favorites in different ways) students from our UW/Madison days graduated from college yesterday. His family threw him a great big bash and we drove up from IL to WI to attend. This is just a little warning for you all. If you send us an invitation to something, if there is any way in the world we can make it, we’ll be there. We’ll also be bringing all the kids. We will also eat lots of your food. But, we’ll totally celebrate with you. That’s a big deal to us. We love to celebrate what God is doing.

The kids aren’t exactly sure why we do this so often, but they are getting really used to having fun in stranger’s homes. They are quick to find the dogs, the swing sets, the old toys and of course, the food. I marvel at their ability to roll out of the car and have fun! God is always faithful to provide good things for them, especially when they have cheerful attitudes about coming along with us. Today was no exception – tree house, swing set, cute dog, lots of cookies, candy dishes on every table, video games, and doting adults to feed them cookies and bring them cute little individual sized water bottles.

I enjoyed some very good conversation with a very fun girl (you know who you are you blog stalker you!!!). I met this particular gal when she was a freshman. She had stellar leadership gifting and killer people skills written all over her and God has been good to develop her and use those amazing gifts for His glory at UW. Talking with her made me think of Colossians (because I simply can not get out of the book of Colossians. It is so good, I’ve been in it since January!). Anyway, I love Colossians 1:9 –

“And so, from the day we heard, we have not ceased to pray for you, asking that you may be filled with the knowledge of his will in all spiritual wisdom and understanding, so as to walk in a manner worthy of the Lord, fulling pleasing to him, bearing fruit in every good work and increasing in the knowledge of God.”

Someone is praying that verse for her, because it is happening, and there is nothing more encouraging than witnessing that in a young person’s life. (Um, could someone please pray that for me too??)

Time for bed. The Lord provided another temp job for me for this upcoming week, and I need to scour my closet for something close to “business casual,” which for me will most likely be a strange combination of Sunday school teacher meets librarian. I’ll do my best.

Leave a Reply

