Giggles

My friend, Megan, over at Halfpint House, tagged me for the “Wardrobe Meme” in which I’m supposed to tell the world five items in my clothing stash that I simply can’t live without.

First, I had to look up the word, “meme.”

A meme (pronounced /miːm/, rhyming with “cream”[1]) is a postulated unit of cultural ideas, symbols or practices, which can be transmitted from one mind to another through writing, speech, gestures, rituals or other imitable phenomena. (The etymology of the term relates to the Greek word μιμητισμός ([mɪmetɪsmos]) for “something imitated”.)[2] Supporters of the concept regard memes as cultural analogues to genes, in that they self-replicate and respond to selective pressures.[3]

Thank you Wikipedia.

I would like to emphasize one word from the above definition. Postulated. Meaning, completely unproven. Meaning, it’s very possible I could live without the following items. Meaning, it’s very possible I SHOULD live without these items. But, here goes.

1.  Very expensive, um, undergarment…

I spent a lot of $$$ on one a couple of years ago AND I let a complete stranger at a very nice, um, undergarment store, help me find the right one. The complete stranger was very helpful and totally unphased by how totally mortified I was. She graciously found one that cost, in my mind, about 1 million dollars, but assured me it was worth it. It was. It makes my clothes look better. It makes my waist look better. I makes my shoulders look better. It doesn’t make my hair look better, but almost. I will spend $$$ on these from now on. Sorry I can’t bring myself to type the actual word and I only mention it because it seriously is the #1 thing I can not live without.

2. Slippers

I have the most beautiful and comfortable slippers in the entire world. They are lined with alpaca and I got them from my mom. I can not live without them. I take them with me when I visit friends. I can not be parted from these slippers. They are awesome.

3. Bathrobe

I never really wore one until we started having people live with us. You just can’t stumble downstairs in whatever in the world you want to when you may come across a 20-something single guy.  So, the robe. My mom bought me one years ago, and I love it. It’s very, very long and has a hood. I look like a Jedi-knight, which is pretty close to what I actually am, so it works. Heh Heh.

4. Vintage Jewelry

Several months ago, my mom gave me (and my girls) all her mom’s jewelery. I have so enjoyed wearing the lovely brooches, (do you spell it broaches or brooches??) rings, and beads my grandmother collected over the years. To me, it’s meaningful accessorizing – which I can do so much better than just buying eye-catching stuff at Target or something. Plus, the vintage look is so “in” right now. Works for me.

5. My gray sweater

Last year I found a short-sleeved charcoal colored sweater. It looks a lot like the one above.  I wear it with tons of different colored long sleeve shirts under it. I love the belt which I tie up in a cute little bow, or leave off for a more swingy look. I can dress it up with a pretty blouse and slacks, or wear it with a t-shirt and jeans. Either way it looks great and really downplays my “trouble” areas.

Thank you for the tag, Megan! I tag all of you to answer the same question in the comment section!!! What are your “Can’t Live Without” items??

2 thoughts on “Giggles

  1. Kristin says:

    1. My Crocs
    2. Old Navy Jeans
    3. Yoga pants for when I can’t stand the jeans anymore.
    4. My Navy blue “Mr Rogers” sweater that I wear around the house to keep warm.
    5. Scarves, in as many colors and fabrics as possible. I acquired this need in Scotland. 🙂

Leave a Reply

