A literary update

Confession. I don’t really get much poetry. My voice teacher in college was the only person I could every talk about poetry with, and that was mainly because he was so good at explaining it. I mostly just listened. He gave me a lovely book of Emily Bronte poetry when I graduated. I can’t read it. I like to hold it though. Does that count for anything?

Anyway, I’ve been trying to read it a bit each night before bed to try to “crack the code” or something. I think I figured one out last night, but it was a pretty depressing one – and it didn’t rhyme. Dr. Seuss is really more my style I guess.

The other literary circles in the family are going well. We recently finished The Swiss Family Robinson with the kids. I’ve never had the urge to make my own window panes out of whale blubber before, but now… I also keep wondering if I could teach the neighbor’s cat to pull a cart. I really think Mr. Robinson could have found a way. After a swim in some humor thanks to Mr. Dahl and Pippi Longstockings and Mary Poppins, we are looking for some adventure again.

I read a lot of young adult non-fiction over the break, mainly about the civil war era. Several very good books there for young gals that I can’t wait for Haven to read. Tim and I read a Goosebumps book together. It was tough. The writing was so bad. I was hoping the whole time he would realize how stupid the book was and thankfully he did. I even tried to make it interesting by adding scary voices and suspenseful pauses. Still, just not that good.

Ben is reading something on leadership. Haven is reading something about cats. Tim loves his Star Wars Cross Section books. Libby and I are working our way through the library one shelf at a time.  I put a gillion books on hold the other night, so we need to jet over there and pick them up. I don’t know what I was thinking – vacation is over, at least I’ll probably get through the Indian Cookbooks. Can’t wait!

And there you have it. A literary update! What are you all reading these days??

3 thoughts on “A literary update

  1. I spent the break re-reading for the first time in YEARS (probably since I was 14 years old) Lucy Maud Montgomery’s Emily trilogy. I had forgotten how formative they were for me. They took me back to being a kid again in a hundred ways, but I enjoyed them sooooo much as an adult.

    I have a stack on my nightstand, but I won’t recommend anything else until I know they are recommendable.

  2. Steph says:

    Hmm. I just finished “I dared to call him Father” Pakistani Muslim woman converts to Christianity in the 1960s. Eventually has to leave and now lives and works in America.

    Epicenter by Joel Rosenberg – purely to see how “the Other Side” thinks. Finding it VERY hard to read him because we disagree about everything.

    In a Pit With a Lion on a Snowy Day – by some new hip church planter in DC. Actually quite good content, though written to a much hipper person than myself. Very much about sieze the opportunity behind the problems realizing that the Lord is all powerful and often uses adversity in ones life. This has been my story for 3 years. I’d rather shift themes.

    That is all in recent weeks. Can’t remember before then. Oh. I wasn’t reading because I was studying for that personal trainer test (= I read LOTS of that stuff!

  3. Jeanna says:

    I just got a Kindle for Christmas & most of the classics are free, so I just read ‘Phantom of the Opera’ and now I’m working on ‘Dracula’.

    Nick really loved the ‘Percy Jackson & the Olympians’ series by Rick Riordan (5 books) They’re actually making the first book into a movie this year!

Leave a Reply

