New Year Focal Points

I don’t care for resolutions. I buck setting goals. This January 1st however, I happened to be reading II Timothy 1 and it was hard to escape the calling to consider life in 2010.

6For this reason I remind you to fan into flame the gift of God, which is in you through the laying on of my hands. 7For God did not give us a spirit of timidity, but a spirit of power, of love and of self-discipline. 8So do not be ashamed to testify about our Lord, or ashamed of me his prisoner. But join with me in suffering for the gospel, by the power of God, 9who has saved us and called us to a holy life—not because of anything we have done but because of his own purpose and grace. This grace was given us in Christ Jesus before the beginning of time, 10but it has now been revealed through the appearing of our Savior, Christ Jesus, who has destroyed death and has brought life and immortality to light through the gospel. 11And of this gospel I was appointed a herald and an apostle and a teacher. 12That is why I am suffering as I am. Yet I am not ashamed, because I know whom I have believed, and am convinced that he is able to guard what I have entrusted to him for that day.13What you heard from me, keep as the pattern of sound teaching, with faith and love in Christ Jesus. 14Guard the good deposit that was entrusted to you—guard it with the help of the Holy Spirit who lives in us.

Four statements, reworked into questions, led to some very reflective and sincere New Year “Focal Points.” 🙂

1. Fan into the flame the gift of God.

What are my gifts from God? How can I nurture them? If there was one I wanted to see developed especially this year, what would it be? How can I accomplish this? Who can help me?

2. For God did not give us a spirit of fear…

Is there an area of my life I have left untouched because I’m afraid? Is there anything I haven’t done out of a fear of failure? Is there an area of  life that is being controlled by fear? Is there a risk I’d like to take?

3. Do not be ashamed to testify about our Lord…

Who is it hard to talk about Jesus with? Who could I ask God for this year – for opportunities to share about who He is?

4. Keep as the pattern of sound teaching…

What areas of my life – spiritual, emotional, relational could use some better patterns? Who is doing well is areas I’m struggling in? Who can I follow into maturity?

So, I’ve got a list of 10 “Focal Points” for 2010. What I hope will be my contribution for making 2010 a year to celebrate. Now, there are several things I identified that only God Himself can do. Those are on a bit of a separate list, but those were just as fun to come up with?

What’s on your “Impossible List” for the year 2010? What’s are your “Focal Points” for 2010? Do share!

3 thoughts on “New Year Focal Points

  1. Steph says:

    Love your posts – wish I had it in me to write like that, but I just seem able to keep the basics together….and that takes a lot of naps (=
    Love your mind and heart, friend.

  2. Steph says:

    hey – I just noticed that your blog date stamp is way off. It says I posted at 3am….my computer date is correct, so I wonder if it is on your end? just fyi.

  3. Jess. I just love you.

    I just posted on my blog trying to recap December. I have a post percolating to answer your question and try to capture something like a New Years resolution but very much not. As life settles back into routine, I’ll try to get it into words.

    I can’t tell you what it means to have a friend who despises the fear within as much as I do.

Leave a Reply

