Bit and Bridle

“Be not like a horse or a mule, without understanding, which must be curbed with bit or bridle, or it will not stay near you.

Psalm 32:9

I’m not sure, but I think this past year has been a sort of bit and bridle from the Lord. I’ve always struggled (and continue to struggle) with an independent streak. I’ve hated discipline, routine, and bucked advice, reproof, and guidance – in my own very sweet way, of course. I’ve left God’s word for long periods, without acknowledging that’s what I was doing. I guess I would fool myself into thinking there was nothing new there to discover, and certainly no need in my soul.

Enter the bit and bridle.

I’ve never sensed God was punishing us as things unfolded this past year. But, I knew He wouldn’t waste all this wonderful stress. He hasn’t. It’s felt more like being caught and subdued. Being reminded of who exactly the Master is. Going around and around the pen. Feeling the strain of a very short lead rope. The uncomfortable taste of metal, reminding me I can not run.

And, the sense of security that comes from knowing Someone has the reins. There is an outcome in mind. He loves me and knows me. One day, He’ll see the surrender and training has gone deep enough and these constraints will come off. And I won’t move. I won’t run. I’ll continue to follow and obey without the need for all this constraint.

Course, I hope that comes sooner than later. So today I’m opening up the Word and attempting to let it control me and lead me.

Leave a Reply

