R.I.P.

After 15 very good years, I’m finally laying this old friend to rest.

Half of Genesis is gone and Romans and Acts are squished between 1st and 2nd Timothy. I covered the bonded leather cover with plastic ages ago and now it is pealing off. I can’t tell you how long I have put this off.

I feel like I’m parting with a very good friend. I can flip this bible open and know just by feel where everything is. All my favorite verses are dated, names of speakers who have shared inspiring words are jotted in the margins, promises and prayers underlined and starred and highlighted.

If I didn’t love my new Bible so much, I don’t think I would have the heart.

Here’s to you, old friend. May you rest in peace until eager and nostalgic fingers of some son or daughter, grandson or granddaughter find you some day and see how good God’s word was to me.

One thought on “R.I.P.

  1. Kristin says:

    Maybe you can think of this as “archiving” rather than laying to rest. You are SO right that your children and grandchildren (and beyond) will treasure that Bible someday, and be encouraged to trudge on in their walk because of your well-worn, precious, archived copy of God’s promises!!!

Leave a Reply

