Soups On!

soup07

Someone, who shall remain nameless in order to protect the struggling, in our household needs to eat a lot of fiber to keep him/her, um, regular. The entire family is joining the, err, fun! I’ve personally learned a lot about cooking with beans which are my new favorite thing in all the world. They are so cheap, easy to flavor, and very cheap. Oh, I said that already.

Anyway, here’s my new favorite recipe compliments of The Mayo Clinic! (I take my fiber-related recipes very seriously! Tee Hee!)

White Chicken Chili

The Basics:

Serves around 6, can be made in 30 minutes, and tastes like you slaved all day. We love it with chips, cornbread, or salad.

Ingredients:

1 can (10 oz) white chunk chicken (I just discovered this stuff. Where have you been all my life canned chunk chicken? I love you.)

3 cups cooked white beans (That’s about 2 cans and I’ve tried every and all combination of the beans that exist of every color and they all work just fine.)

1 can (14.5 oz) diced tomatoes (The low sodium variety works very well)

4 cups chicken broth (or veggie)

1 medium onion, chopped (I like to cut mine into very large chunks. It adds to the texture and the kids can easily pick them out if they don’t care for them.)

1/2 green pepper, chopped (I’ve started leaving the green pepper out and I like it slightly better that way.)

2 garlic cloves, minced

2 tsp chili powder

1 tsp cumin

1 tsp oregano (I never seem to have this, so I’ve used Italian seasoning and basil both and they work great too.)

Monterey Jack Cheese (reduced fat is recommended, but I’m allergic to low-fat or reduced-sugar items in all their forms.)

Fresh Cilantro (Don’t skip this. It’s the best part.)

Directions:

Combine chicken, beans (rinsed and drained), tomatoes and chicken broth. Cover and simmer over medium heat.

Spray non-stick pan with cooking spray and saute onion, peppers, and garlic until soft.

Add onion mixture to soup pot. Stir in chili powder, cumin, and oregano. Simmer for 10 minutes.

Serve with a generous sprinkle of shredded cheese and chopped cilantro.

Yum.

PS: I’ve 1.5’d the recipe a few times for company and it’s always a hit!!

2 thoughts on “Soups On!

  1. no way, I’ve been thinking about making this stuff for weeks but haven’t bothered to find a recipe! Can’t wait to try it…I, ahem, could use a little extra fiber myself! Those calcium pills are reaking havoc on my system!

  2. Katie says:

    YAY!! I am so glad you blogged a recipe 🙂 I already printed it out and look forward to making it. People should share recipes online more often 🙂 Hope you are well!!! 🙂

Leave a Reply

