At home

It’s Monday evening and usually I would be headed to campus, but I’m home tonight. H7 has struggled all semester with being home with a sitter on this night. On the other night I’m on campus, Ben is home with her, but on Mondays we’ve been having a girl from our church come and be here. Most times, the kids are all asleep when the sitter comes, but H7 is wise to this now.

The past few Mondays she has made it clear, she does not want me leaving her for campus at night. I can tell she is genuinely afraid.

“What if the power goes out? What if there’s a fire? What if someone tries to break in?”

(If she only knew how panicked I would be if these things happened while I was on “duty.”)

Anyway, it’s a fine line. I don’t want her to feel insecure, or like she’s playing second to my commitments on campus – but they are commitments, and I can’t back out of them right now.

But tonight, I’m home.

PS: In case anyone is really looking for my post, previously entitled, “May 21, 2011” – I’ve changed the title to “Dear Creepy Radio Dude.” I was getting a lot of traffic from people trying to convince me to become a “true believer.”

Leave a Reply

