Green and Spiral Bound

notebook

Tonight I spent time with a group of girls talking about the Bible and prayer. At the end, I passed out a journal of sorts with some ideas inside about how to spend time with God via his word and prayer.

As I was passing out the journals I remembered my own “very first journal.”Ā  It was green, spiral bound, and I used to drag it up to the top floor of my dorm to write in it every night as a freshman in college. I still have it. I crack up when I read it because, I was truly, SO DUMB AND CHEESEY! The journal is totally about me and maybe .01% about God, but you have to start somewhere right?

Anyway, I have two tubs full of old journals now, but it’s been a few years since I’ve been faithful to write anything meaningful via pen and paper. The blog is a form of journaling for me, but I do miss the long letters to the Lord were I would pose my questions, listen, intercede for friends, chew on ideas from God’s word…

I wasn’t planning on taking one of my little journals for myself – after all – I am the leader, I am the “Nav Staff,” but I changed my mind.

I am re-entering the pen and paper world. Anyone care to join me?

2 thoughts on “Green and Spiral Bound

  1. Jeanna says:

    I’ve been challenged to do this before & I just can’t. Besides being a VERY sporadic writer, I tend to re-live & not just re-read my stuff. That’s not really healthy for me. However, I am co-teaching a class at church with our 4th & 5th graders & we are encouraging them to at least start to record their prayers & the prayer requests of their classmates. If I can’t do it, I can at least teach it, right? šŸ˜‰

  2. Karen says:

    Jess, what a timely note! I just got out a new journal yesterday and made my first entry in a LONG LONG time. I’m there with you! I guess I’ll see how far I get… šŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

