Because I know you have all sorts of free time

You are just dying for another book recommendation, I know it. Why didn’t you tell me you were just sitting around wishing I would tell you what you should read. Silly ol’ you.

delighted in God

I’m reading, (for the 3rd time – because it really is that good), George Muller – Delighted in God!, by Roger Steer. Here’s why I like it. It’s not amazingly written, although it’s clear Mr. Steer has done his homework. It’s the faith. It’s the perseverance of this man to believe God for the little and the large.

Mr. Muller started a children’s home in England in the mid 1800’s – feeding thousands of children over the course of his life, without asking anyone for a single donation. He simply asked God again and again to meet the needs of the work he felt God had given him to do. And you won’t believe the ways in which God answered his humble prayers.

I don’t think I’ll ever have the faith to pray like he did, but the story gives me a longing (which is fleeting, so fleeting) to ask God for Himself, and for His provision. I don’t know why it’s so hard for me to ask God for these things, but it is.

This book is for the faint hearted!

Let me encourage you to sit with this story for a while, and see what God inspires you to ask Him for.

2 thoughts on “Because I know you have all sorts of free time

  1. this book scares me a little.

    Not long ago, I started asking God for things I thought I needed….and I got a house! FREAKED ME OUT!!!!

    Seriously, though….I haven’t been able to find a time when I can use words coherently AND have enough time to explain how your post about being content with whatever happened with your house in Madison set off something inside me and launched me into now.

    If I go reading a book like this…I don’t know….pray that God gives me a greater capacity for Him. I’m still reeling from the close encounters I’ve had with Him recently….

  2. Kristin says:

    Jess, for school last year we read the YWAM bio of George Muller aloud, and we all just loved it! Very inspiring. The authors are Janet and Geoff Benge.

Leave a Reply

