The Shack and stuff…

I know The Shack is old news, but I finally got around to reading it. I picked it up with a bit of fear and trembling. I thought about hanging a clove a garlic around my neck too just in case!

You know what? I didn’t like it all that much. It didn’t mess with me. It didn’t blow the top off my theological framework. I was a little disappointed. I thought a few characters were really well developed and others  – not so much. The car crash element was totally unnecessary and detracted from the story – so much so, it almost made me chuck the book and not finish the last couple of pages.

I felt a little disappointed in the “God” of The Shack. I was attracted to the personal interaction with God part, but a little underwhelmed. I think God is so, so, so, (so times 1 million here) much more than what I found in the pages of The Shack.

I hope people are encouraged to journey towards the Lord by reading the book, anticipating a rich relationship with the God of the universe. But I think most people will start searching for unique experiences that explain away the struggle and pain of life instead.

I mean, it’s hard enough to remain committed to having the Bible mean something to your mind, heart, and soul. I think most people will find themselves leaving the Bible on the shelf and waiting around by the mailbox all day for their own personal letter from “Papa.”

If you like these kind of allegorical books though, I much prefer Hinds Feet in High Places by Hurnard.

And quickly on to the “the stuff” I mentioned in the title. Just to let you know – we are still on the road. We are still on target to move back to IL on August 1st. We still all love each other, and we still all really love people leaving comments on this blog even though we are total blog slackers and don’t deserve it.

6 thoughts on “The Shack and stuff…

  1. Heidi says:

    Glad to hear you are all doing fine. It always makes my day to read your blog! The kids have been reading through the library and earning free books through their program. Lots of fun! Take care, Heidi 🙂

  2. Chalsea says:

    I agree with the car crash part, and not to deny your thoughts on the book, but here’s how it pushed me.

    Growing up, God was this distant thing and as long as I talked to Jesus when I was down, I’d be ok. Although my perspective of God’s hugeness and his compassion changed over time, my perspective of his distance and his approachableness (spell check is alerting me that that’s not even a word) did not change. Reading this book gave me a tiny slice of a generous, welcoming, warm, and present God. That’s the biggest thing God taught me through the book.

    I know what you’re saying, though. It’s such a popular and “warm fuzzy feeling” book that it might attract people to its fiction instead of to the truth. I find that’s a danger in every book I read. I recently read the Chronicles of Narnia for the first time ever. I didn’t really love the stories so much, but I loved them because it allowed me to see characteristics of God in a whole new way. But around book 5, I realized I was going to these CS Lewis books way more than I was going to the Bible to see what God had to say about himself. God showed that to me and I began to strike a balance. I think He’ll do that for these new readers, too.

    I’m glad to hear you’re doing well. I love to periodically “check up” on you guys and see where life is leading you. Good luck with all the traveling!

    Chalsea

  3. sherry says:

    Okay, I’ll leave a comment since you begged. 🙂 I haven’t read it. Heard about it but haven’t even really considered that I should read it. I like Hind’s Feet too.

    So, how is that mini van smelling these days? Could you eat off the floor for a week if you landed in a freak July blizzard?

    Love ya, friend.

    Sherry

  4. I LOVED ‘The Shack’. It gave me a sense of peace that the very worst things that could happen, I would survive and that God was in control. I haven’t ever felt that reading anything else. It didn’t make me expect “special” things to happen, just made me see God as SO much bigger than the box I already put Him in. (Of course, I probably just put Him in a bigger box, but it’s a start!)

Leave a Reply

