Fasting

Well, we are finished with the program in southern Indiana. God did some good things, Ben did a fantastic job, and we all enjoyed being at Spring Hill Camp a ton. We had a whole lot of fun there.

We are at our home in Madison for a few days getting it ready for a friends who will be moving into it in a week. It’s empty, but it still feels like home.

I’ll post some pictures soon of a few of our adventures, I have a few great God stories, and I’ll make a few confessions, but I just have one quick thing on my heart this morning  – and then I’ve got to whip the garage into shape.

During the program we asked the students to fast from cell phones, internet, computers, I-Pods – basically all forms of technology.  Our family participated too, although we did bust out a movie or two on rainy days for the kids. I admit, I cheated (hence my Blackberry post from the middle of the woods). Cheating aside though, it was a really great break.

I had gotten used to a certain degree of contact with the virtual world. I think it was too much. Going cold turkey (or almost) for an extended period was the most refreshing thing I’ve done in many years.

In application, I’m keeping my blog, and I’m keeping my email, but I’m leaving Facebook, Twitter, and I’ve sliced down the sites I’ll visit to about 4.

I love the internet world, but I probably need to do a better job just lovin’ my very literal neighbor.

Just a thought.

3 thoughts on “Fasting

  1. sherry says:

    PHew. I was afraid you were going to say you weren’t going to blog anymore. How would I ever know what is going on with my friend Jess then???
    Welcome back. I thought of you and your kiddos lots and hoped you were having tons of fun.

    Love,

    Sherry

Leave a Reply

