An anniversary of sorts

I’m just around the corner from a very big anniversary. As in all relationships, this one has had it’s ups and downs. I don’t blame the other party (yes I do). There are no apologies required (yes there are). And just to show that everything is water under the bridge and I’m willing to make a new start (most begrudgingly), I’m throwing a fantastic party complete with champagne (or Dr.Pepper).

Drum roll please…

I am speaking of course of the-

1st (and hopefully FINAL) anniversary of putting our beloved house on the market!

Before I burst out the bubbly, let me quickly share just a few lessons I’ve learned along the way.

1. I do not need to own a home to be happy and feel secure. This has been a painful lesson to learn. I can not tell you how many times I’ve told the Lord that I absolutely do and that He absolutely must do such and such to make sure this happens. It might not happen for a good long while now and I am OK (not thrilled and doing cartwheels) but OK – peaceful, OK.

2.  If I’m good with our circumstances, if I’m joyful at what the Lord has provided, so are the kids. If I’m not – if I hate the rental house, the tiny bathroom, and the hanging too low chandelier I have bonked my head on 100 times, so do they. But, if I love the roof over our heads, am grateful for our all being together, and even for how many silly and awkward moments we’ve shared in the tiniest bathroom ever built, they are usually right there with me. I set the mood. That’s a tough one to swallow, but it is the truth.

3. There is no need to hate everyone who walks through the house and doesn’t buy it. I confess, until recently (this morning) I did. I felt like giving each and every person a piece of my mind about what a great house it is, and how much love we’d poured into it, and how they are just plain IDIOTS for not buying it. Whoops, slipping into my old ways just for a second. Anyway, I’m learning to release these mysterious folks from my wrath, with God’s help.

4. Now that I’ve felt the sheer and utter pain of slaving away to get a house ready for a showing and then find the people came but just weren’t all that serious, just casually checking out the options, I promise to never do that myself. I vow to never casually request to look at a home. I will know ahead of time if it’s the neighborhood I like, if it has the right number of bedrooms, etc. I can’t tell you how many people have walked through our house only to tell us they didn’t know it was on the street that it’s on – residents of the town, people who have lived in the area for a long time. DUH. Whoops, sorry.  Release, breathe. Anyway, I promise, I promise, I promise I will not do that.

Be watching for the celebratory post, complete with my very first GIVEAWAY in honor of the big day!

Leave a Reply

