Recognized

I’m back from my trip. I went to visit with the other 4 gals who made up the “Platte House” with me for a few years in Colorado Springs. It had been 5 years since we’d all been together!

I think I went to Colorado Springs, but honestly, I really only saw the inside of my friend Steph’s home basically. We literally talked non stop the entire time, moving at various times from one room to the next.  Here’s a quick look at all the exciting details…

Monday:

3:00 p.m –  Land in Colorado Springs

3:00-5:00 p.m. – The sharing begins at Stacy’s house.

5:00-10:00 p.m. – The sharing continues at Steph’s house.

10:00-12:00 a.m. – Brief intermission to watch Hanging Up with Meg Ryan. Don’t bother. It was painfully bad.

Tuesday

8:00 – 1:00 p.m. – Sharing continues in Steph’s kitchen.

1:00 – 2:00 p.m. – Brief run to Chick-Fil-A

2:00 p.m – 1:00 – a.m. – Sharing continues in Steph’s living room.

Wednesday

8:00 – 10:00 a.m. – Sharing wraps up and we end in a time of prayer.

11:00 a.m. – Fly home.

At different times, in different voices, with different styles, we all told the story of these last five years. We have been all over the world – the middle east, Africa, Cambodia, Thailand, Russia, and New Zealand. We have gotten married, stayed single, and struggled with the pain both paths can bring. We have suffered miscarriages, depression, lost our dreams, and failed at things. We have given birth, adopted children, and cared for other peoples children. We have all stumbled in our pursuits, but we are still pursuing  our passions, which was hugely encouraging to me. We have all circled around our faith at times, but we have all come back to Christ with our hurts and hardships time and time again and we are all looking to Him still to fill new areas of need and insecurity.

After all this and all these years – after our faces, hair, and bodies have entered their 30’s, and our souls have weathered a few more storms, we all recognized each other. It was the recognizing of our souls that I think made us each feel real and wanted. We saw the same threads in one another that we’d come to love so many years ago. We all fit together in the same way and created the same familiar circle of friends.

It was like finding I’d come to a luxurious sand bar in the middle of a long swim across a very unknown water.

5 thoughts on “Recognized

  1. Jill McHaffie says:

    Wow, Jess! I have tears in my eyes after reading this. Honestly, I don’t even know why except that I’ve been seeing my own shortcomings and insecurity so clearly (in motherhood, especially) lately. Thanks for the encouragement and sharing that it is a journey that is sometimes difficult. So glad you were able to see your girlfriends!

  2. Hey Jess. So, so glad you got the chance to reconnect with your friends and that it was a great time. Your writing on this post was amazing. You made me miss my little college group of friends so much, yet also feel thankful for all the great friendships God has sent my way to fill that void.

    Give your monkeys a squeeze from us!

  3. steph carlson says:

    wow. well said my friend. I’m putting a link on my post to yours. I had NO energy or creativity when I was writing but I wanted to put SOMETHING down! Loved seeing you. Miss you, think you’re FAB, thinking of you in your monkey house…..
    steph

Leave a Reply

