Oh that Holy Spirit…

I drove a friend to O’Hare a few nights ago. I was really looking forward to the time in the car alone on the way back. Me, the radio blasting, and an hours worth of toll road with my I-Pass. Heaven… I gathered some CD’s on the way out, and because I was feeling just a tinge rebellious and grouchy, I didn’t grab any Christian ones. I just wanted to listen to music really loud and not think. Anything but think.

I’ve listened to enough Mindy Smith this week to last me a lifetime, (although I’m totally not sick of her. LOVE that Mindy Smith.) All that to say, I grabbed the Once soundtrack.

I popped it in, and the words from the very first song became one of the most meaningful dialogues with God I’ve had in a long while. Listening, I thought how perfectly the words in red echo God’s true assessment of me and heart for me. And my only response (in back) was to gratefully say, “Well Lord. Your mind’s made up. You are for me. You love me. I can’t escape it. Hallelujah and Amen”

So,
If you want something
And you call, call
Then I’ll come running
To fight
And I’ll be at your door
When there’s nothing worth running for

When your mind’s made up
When your mind’s made up
There’s no point trying to change it
When your mind’s made up
When your mind’s made up
There’s no point trying to stop it

You see
You’re just like everyone
When the shit falls all you want to do is run… away
And hide all by yourself
When you’re far from me there’s nothing else

When your mind’s made up
When your mind’s made up
There’s no point trying to change it
When your mind’s made up
When your mind’s made up
There’s no point trying even talking

So
If you ever want something
And you call, call
Then I’ll come running.

When your mind’s made up
When your mind’s made up
There’s no point trying to change it
When your mind’s made up
When your mind’s made up
There’s no point trying even talking

PS: I feel like I have to have some sort of disclaimer about the swear word above. I don’t use the word myself – uh, well, that’s not totally true. Uh, (nervous giggle), how ’bout not that often –  I swear. Whoops – a pun. Anyway, all that to say –  the shoe fits and sorry if it offends anyone.

2 thoughts on “Oh that Holy Spirit…

Leave a Reply

