A little bird am I

Monday is approaching. Mondays are the hardest days of the week for me. It’s not that things are so much harder without Ben, they just aren’t nearly as fun. I miss my playmate during the week. There’s no bottom to pinch at every opportunity, no strong chest to lean into when I hear the doorbell ring and know it’s the neighbor boy…again, not to mention no one to empty the dishwasher. Holy Cow – that’s a hardship!

This hymn/poem was a part of today’s devotional from Streams in the Desert.

A little bird I am,
Shut from the fields of air,
And in my cage I sit and sing
To Him who placed me there;
Well pleased a prisoner to be,
Because, my God, it pleaseth Thee.

My cage confines me round,
Abroad I cannot fly,
But though my wing is closely bound,
My soul is at liberty;
For prison walls cannot control
The flight, the freedom of the soul.

I have a very luxurious cage, I have to say. My life is pretty cushy, but all the same, it is a bit of a cage to have to stay behind week after week while Ben begins our ministry and life in Dekalb.

This week, I want to sing, even in my little cage. There is really so, so much to sing about. My kids, of course. I know you all love yours and think they are great – but you haven’t met MINE! 🙂

Did you know my daughter, H6, always greets me after school with a huge hug and wants to hold my hand while we walk to the car?

Did you know, the other night, after a very difficult evening altogether, I was tucking T5 into bed and he pulled my head down to his little chest, rubbed my back and said, “Mommy, even if there was a better mommy out there, I wouldn’t care. I want you. I love you.”

AND, did you know that when I’m sitting next to L3 on the couch, watching TV, she always clutches my arm and cuddles it?

Thank you Lord, for your love, which my kids shower on me every day. Thank you for hands to hold, words of affirmation and gratitude, and snuggles. Despite my weaknesses, I know they love me. Help me sing this week and live in gratefulness for that gift.

3 thoughts on “A little bird am I

  1. I LOVE Streams in the Desert! That hymn sounds lovely~I wonder if I can find it to play on my dulcimer! and OH what a precious moment with your sweet littles! (((((HUGS))))) sandi

Leave a Reply

