Gut Writers

I’m reading an old faithful right now, The Divine Conquest, by A.W. Tozer. It’s one I’ve read and re-read over the last 10 years or so. For me, Tozer is a gut writer. When I read him, I feel it in my gut. Not my heart – warm and fuzzy, but my gut – achy and true.

From the chapter entitled, Victory through Defeat

“We might well pray for God to invade and conquer us, for until He does, we remain in peril from a thousand foes. We bear within us the seeds of our own disintegration. Our moral imprudence puts us always in danger of accidental or reckless self-destruction. The strength of our own flesh is an ever present danger to our souls. Deliverance can come to us only by the defeat of our old life. Safety and peace come only after we have been forced to our knees. God rescues us by breaking us, by shattering our strength and wiping out our resistance. Then He invades our natures with that ancient and eternal life which is from the beginning. So He conquers us and by that benign conquest saves us for Himself.”

Feelin’ it?

So, friends. Who are some of your gut writers? Who pierces your heart and speaks to your deepest places?

Holy Spirit… I guess you are at the top of our lists…we are just looking for some of your pals! 🙂

3 thoughts on “Gut Writers

  1. H. says:

    Hi,

    I’m H. and I work in a company interested in blog advertising. I found your blog engaging and I’m contacting you to ask if you are interested in blog post sponsorship.

    If you are interested, kindly mail back at k5sino@bigstring.com, indicating your blog for reference, and I’ll send you back pricing details, guidelines and processes. Looking forward to doing business with you.

    Sincerely,

    H.

Leave a Reply

