Just a little more from Mrs. 31

Something else I am currently considering is the honor and praise given to Mrs. 31 as a contributor to the family means, i.e. budget. Last year, I took a part time job as a preschool teacher, and for the first couple of months, I felt like I was in sin – literally. I was embarrassed. I was ashamed to be working outside the home. I felt I had betrayed Ben by trying to earn money, because wouldn’t it be more godly to put all my energy towards furthering HIS career and helping HIM make more money? (I never said this out loud of course. It was more a gut level thing…)

Please keep reading friends. The obvious often escapes me.

Mrs. 31 seems to think that supporting her family by using her gifts to earn money is an extension of her ministry to her family. WHAT?? It also seems the Lord is proud of her accomplishments and resourcefulness. WHAT??

Maybe Mrs. 31 didn’t wake up one day and find she suddenly understood the ins and outs of considering a field and buying it. I bet she had to learn. I bet she had to try her hand at it a few times. Maybe she started out considering cows, and then realized she wasn’t that good at that. I bet she might have gone to some sort of developmental seminar that required Mr. 31 to take care of Lil’ 31 and Baby 31 so she could learn how to be a very profitable field consider-er.

All that to say, I think I have the freedom to develop my gifting in order to earn money for my family, should a season arise where it is appropriate for our family. DUH. (I know. Sorry.)

All that to also say, I’m going to sign up for a counseling seminar in November which is hugely inconvenient for my Mr. 31 and our Lil’ Miss 31, Lil Boy 31, and Baby 31, but counseling may one day be one of the ways I contribute to our family income, and in the meantime will just be great for our ministry at NIU. Win – Win.

6 thoughts on “Just a little more from Mrs. 31

  1. Rose says:

    Amen and Amen. Thanks so much for sharing. I will remember this the next time I feel guilty about working part time — work that I love, am good at, gives me an opportunity to talk about a number of things with my new friends (i.e. patients), and that David supports. So…why do I feel so guilty about working? In a word, leaving Rob with a babysitter is the pits. Thank you for reminding me that he desires for women/moms to be innovative, creative, and resourceful while using their gifting — not just men. And, God does seem to work out the details like babysitters/allowing David to be home, etc. It is just a minor inconvenience for the other two members of my little family.

    By the way, I am enjoying your blog so very much. Sherry gave me the link. I hope that is okay!

    So…off to consider an insulin pump and train a person how to use it. Not quite the same as real-estate purchases, but work that I am better at than buying land…

  2. ness says:

    i wish I could go to that seminar with you….It’s been a ministry kinda day. I wonder again why I got a degree in High School English Education….*sigh* If I could go back to sophomore year and switch…..well….I probably would….but then again….I would have missed out teaching fourth grade in NYC…..

    I love the fact that that whole field buying thing is up to her…she doesn’t have to ask permission first. Apparently, it’s okay to be good at what you do, too.

    Yeah, Proverbs 31 lady has been a boil on my bottom at times, but the older I get, the more I like her….

  3. Sherry says:

    Amen and amen! I’m not sure we can know how old her kids were…they were old enough to appreciate her (rise up and call her blessed) and I know my kids haven’t done that yet at 2 and 4, but I’m waiting…maybe next year?
    BUT I do know (well, it is my firm opinion) that this chapter is not describing a single day in her week or even a week in her month! I get overwhelmed by all she has done and then I realize, this must be over a long period of time…maybe even a lifetime, and there is a season for everything. Like Counseling Seminars that are a great break from the routine and excellent training for the future. If Mr. 31 falls apart by the time you return, at least you will be well equipped to listen and counsel him back to sanity. 🙂 Enjoy yourself!

    Sherry

Leave a Reply

