Proverbs 31

As part of a Bible study on marriage Ben and I did with a couple (very cool couple by the way) in town, we were asked to look at Proverbs 31. How many times have we all read that passage and let out a sigh of exasperation?? Jeezzzzz, lady. Could you possibly be any more industrious and perfect and impossible??

I read it with a new heart this time. I felt a surge of gratefulness to God for giving credit to this woman, and to all woman in a sense, for all the work we do that is behind the scenes. So many of the tasks Mrs. 31 did probably went completely unnoticed by the majority of the town her husband was helping to run.

So, instead of feeling like a loser because I don’t know how to consider a field a buy it, this is cause for celebration. God knows I work hard. God knows YOU work hard. Let’s eat cake!!! (How ’bout we ALL whip up that delicious chocolate cake I posted a couple of days ago!!!)

3 thoughts on “Proverbs 31

  1. Good observation!
    Hubby told me the other day tha I needed to make everything from scratch now (it was a compliment), and so I’m going to try your cake really soon!

  2. What a great way to look at this passage! I think women (and especially moms) are often discouraged when comparing themselves to other women, whether they be personal contacts or Biblical. I think you have a great attitude!

  3. Amy says:

    I praise God for women like you, Jess, that exemplify Proverbs 31 in our world today. Thanks for Sunday night! Anthony and I are always so excited to come over and feel so encouraged when we leave!

    Have a great week!
    Love,
    Amy

Leave a Reply

