Fuddy Duddy

Someone recently gave me the book, Praise Habit: Finding God in Sunsets and Sushi, by David Crowder. It’s a combination of some thoughts on spending time with God, and some devotionals around the Psalms. I just finished it last night, and I have to say, I didn’t get it.

I tried to get it. I read it every night for a few weeks. I tried to like it even. I like David Crowder. But, I think I’m just too old. I’m a fuddy duddy. I didn’t like the Psalms being quoted in the Message “Remix” version, and although I had this sense that I was reading something carefully crafted and probably beautiful, I didn’t get it.

In fact, after I’d read the passage in the “remix” and then David’s thoughts, I’d have to whip out my NASB and read the psalm again because I had no idea what the remix was trying to express, or what David was talking about related to the psalm.

I hope the person who gave it to me doesn’t ask me about it, because I think they might think I’m slightly hip, which I obviously am not. I’ll continue to keep my NASB and Amplified Bible tucked in my 30-something duffel bag/purse and hope no one notices. 🙂

2 thoughts on “Fuddy Duddy

  1. Stick with your NASB, Jess, or if you’re wanting to make a switch, try the ESV (new study Bible coming out this fall that’s going to be amazing).

    You’re no fuddy duddy.

Leave a Reply

