Genetics

Isn’t it amazing when you see yourself in your kiddos?

“Holy Cow! She has my eyes!” or

“Wait. That was so totally my laugh.”

Well, unfortunately, there are other things we can pass along that aren’t quite to beautiful, like in my case, being the worst sleeper on the face of the earth.

I am that worst sleeper. Any ex-roommate of mine will attest. I’m prone to terrible bouts of insomnia and require very precise specification for good sleep. In other words, my poor hubby has had to sleep in the pitch black darkness of blackout curtain night with a fan running (not oscilating…fans in motion have a rhythm that keeps me up. It must remain perfectly stationary.) I need the fan because I hear everything. Everything. Ev-er-y-thing. It’s terrible. It’s a wonder I don’t wake up when the neighbors sneeze.

Anyway, our youngest suffers from the same disease, and the last few nights have been especially difficult. She is potty training and doing great. But, her body has just decided to let her know when she needs to go at night, instead of just allowing her to pee in the diaper without disturbing her perilous sleep. This means every hour or so she starts crying. She’s half asleep but still crying because she’s uncomfortable. She flips around crying until we are all awake ready to pull all our hair out. Waking her up completely is nearly impossible – believe me, I’ve tried. Of course, modifications are being made – no drinks after 6, bla bla bla BUT – until her body figures this out a little better, we are in trouble.

I am in zombie, very grouchy, mommy mode today after three long nights of this. I would post a picture, but it might make YOU stay up all night. 🙂

2 thoughts on “Genetics

  1. SA Megan says:

    I’m sorry, Jess. Abby does that half-awake squaking/screaming just about every night and it drives me crazy. I’m always thinking, sleep or wake-up! None of this in-between business!!! I hope it gets better for you soon!

  2. steph says:

    Oh my gosh – I am SO Sorry! what a drag. I do so remember your insomnia….Tom struggles with it too and I am eternally grateful it is not one of my issues. I hope your little one can have some peace at night (=

Leave a Reply

