Couple a Woosies…

You know, I don’t really know how you spell “woosies.” But, I believe the definition would be: wimpy, lacking in fortitude, easily freaked out. I would say that fits Ben and I pretty well.

The kids and I drove down to visit him this weekend. After a lovely hug and kiss we looked each other in the eyes and said,

“Well, after 5 days have you fulfilled the vision of establishing a flourishing community of believers, committed to the campus, the city, and the nations?”

“Well, no. Have you mastered the skills required to be a single parent?”

That would be a no. And so then the topic switched to which one of us was going to write the letter to all our supporters and friends to let them know we had utterly failed, were leaving staff, and looking for jobs at Burger King.

We are SO wimpy! It was a hard week, but I think we are OK. We had some discouraging news on the housing front. Our Realtor forgot to do the open house we had planned for while we were away and let us know another house across the street from us is going on the market, about $20,000 less than ours. The entire morning I felt like the dead chipmunk I found on the stoop this morning.

But, the Lord’s mercies were new to me this morning, as promised. What a blessing to go through this season in a town I love, surrounded by people I love, in a home I love, my children in a school I love, and blessed by a church I love.

BUT, keep your noses to the grind stone people and PRAY PRAY PRAY!!! (Errr, thanks.)

4 thoughts on “Couple a Woosies…

  1. erikdunkin says:

    Wow…I can’t believe you are able to make this situation so funny! I don’t know if I should laugh or cry or both. Anyhow, thanks for your comment on my blog…I wonder how differently I’d think about it if I had kids. I realize thats probably another reason we have such a young staff at our school…most people that have families wouldn’t want to risk teaching in our neighborhood…and for good reason. But, for the time being, NO KIDS! WHEEHHEEWW! Therefore, its OK for me to hang out in places where my life is at risk on a daily basis. 🙂 Just don’t tell my mom I said that…

  2. I bet you didn’t know that they don’t have indoor plumbing across the street and they forgot to clean for 10 years. No, I’m sorry, that is a big hit…when you didn’t really need a hit. I’ll pray friend.

  3. susq says:

    I wonder if it’s the house where they leave their laundry out on the line all winter long? The one with the three station wagons filled with mysterious brown bags filled with who knows what, that never move out of their driveway?? Hm….now I’m curious 🙂 I’m sure it will in no way be as lovely as your place though!!! Glad you got a chance to visit, hope it was nice.

Leave a Reply

