Precious

Friday night we got to stay out late and celebrate a very fun wedding. Patty and Grant were married and threw a very spiffy and fun party. After a solid 45 minutes of enjoying some great hip hop dancing (oh – how I love to dance… I just try hard not to catch myself in any reflective object like windows or big picture frames. The site might scare me into becoming a wall flower) I sat down to people watch.

There were about 40 people there I would consider precious to me, all students and alumni. Watching them giggle and dance and hug tugged on my heart strings. Knowing they are growing up and getting married made me so proud to know them. They are going to have such wonderful lives and families.

I know I sounded like a broken record going around telling all the girls how beautiful they looked. But seriously, each and every one looked stunning and glowing with the sweet serenity of the last weeks of summer before school starts again.

It’s hard to let go of these people. I want to know them for the rest of my life. I want to know when they have babies, get different jobs, lose parents, move away, wrestle with God, achieve goals, fail, chose the wrong counter tops, and lose keys.

I know we’ll meet great people in Dekalb. It’s kind of the nature of our job to float in and out of many people’s lives, but that doesn’t make the letting go any easier.

2 thoughts on “Precious

  1. steph carlson says:

    Hey – great words. You are so good at writing your thoughts. I am also living with the feeling that the life we’ve chosen means we’ll always be leaving someone and somewhere. I hate it.

Leave a Reply

