cast, dart, dash, fling, heave, hurl, hurtle, launch, pitch, shoot, shy, sling, toss

I’ve always loved 1 Peter 5:7 and the idea of casting all my cares on Jesus. Casting… What is that exactly? According to the trusty thesaurus, it’s all those great words in today’s title. My favorites are heave, hurl, and launch. I imagine huge objects, absolutely too heavy to carry around, hurtling through space towards the heavens.

It’s more than just venting, don’t you think? There’s some sort of seperating of self, and pushing away from that we get to do. It’s more than surrender, although, I’m sure that must come first. Why do we like to cling on to these worries so much? Today, it feels like tearing out and using all my strength to put distance between me and them.

1 Peter 5:7 (Amplified Bible)

Casting the [a]whole of your care [all your anxieties, all your worries, all your concerns, [b]once and for all] on Him, for He cares for you affectionately and cares about you [c]watchfully.(A)

Lord, thank you for snatching up these concerns. Thank you for your affection. I know you are watching and caring and working.

7 thoughts on “cast, dart, dash, fling, heave, hurl, hurtle, launch, pitch, shoot, shy, sling, toss

  1. Megan says:

    Hey – I’m attending a Classical Conversations practicum in Illinois this week. I met the gal who is heading up the CC program in DeKalb. GREAT, great lady. I really hope someday you get to do that program with them (if that’s the route you choose to go, that is!).

    And, no, don’t ask why this is happening this particular week when we’re also moving into the new house. Makes for a particularly fun me (okay, so sadly the opposite is true).

  2. Something to think about: you can’t cast, heave, hurl anything heavy without pulling back & getting your hips into it, you know? It’s purposeful, but it only happens after we’ve accepted the full weight of it!!!

Leave a Reply

