I’m so sorry…

I’ve known the cost of food has been on the rise, but over the last few weeks, I’ve really felt it. I’m a very boring grocery shopper. Every week I buy very close to the same thing, with a little variety in the kind of fruit and veggies we eat, and whatever meat has the “Reduced” sticker on it. My target is between $80-90 and I used to be able to do it with my eyes closed, without a calculator, and with all three kids along. No problem.

The last few weeks, I’ve gone through my same routine, but the total has been over $100. I don’t know exactly what’s costing more, and I’m also not sure what in the world I can cut out. And this brings me to my main point.

I just want to publicly (to all 8 of you) apologize to all the women who I have scoffed at in my heart as I’ve seen you pushing your carts full of white bread, nutter butter bars, margarine, frozen pizzas, and Hi-C punch. I have accused you of not taking care of your family’s health, but I’m beginning to understand you and I’m sorry for my prideful heart. It is so hard to come home with so little. It is hard to say no to kids who want a snack and even harder to provide one that is healthy, convenient, and low in cost.

I’m just getting on the band wagon with the Global Food Crisis. I’m not sure where to start with that, but I’m trying to learn what I can at this point. But, for those of you who have been experiencing this in your homes for years, who have been trying your best to provide for your family, and who have endured the snotty looks from “Healthy” shoppers at the local grocery store, I’m really, really, sorry.

5 thoughts on “I’m so sorry…

  1. I didn’t know I was getting snotty looks!!! HA! 🙂 We eat a lot of junk at my house…I haven’t jumped on the bandwagon yet, but will eventually, I’m sure.

    It really is too bad that it has to be so much more expensive to eat like a healthy person.

    Thanks for this post.

  2. seriously, parallel lives….there is something about the grocery store that is my greatest exercise of my faith.

    At our really toughest point, we signed up for a program called Angel Food which is run out of thousands of churches all over the country. If you google them, you can find a locator for churches that distribute in your area. For 25 dollars, you get about a weeks worth of food. Sometimes it’s a little blah, but often, it’s quite good. It often has a couple of good meats and sometimes fresh things as well as really staple things. Sometimes it’s not super healthy, but it does make a couple of good stretcher meals to supplement your pantry.

    God is really putting you through it, Girl….first the house, now the groceries!!!

  3. Sadly, I’m at a point in my life where I want to actually start buying more healthy options. I guess I picked a wrong time to think healthy! I can’t believe how much “healthy” food costs!

    BTW – My kids LOVE Ramen noodles as a snack & everyone knows that you can’t get much cheaper than that! Some things you learn in college actually come in handy later in life!

  4. steph choat carlson says:

    I have never forgotten that you taught me how to mix sour cream in with ramen noodles for a change on the same ole same.
    That was you wasn’t it???
    Do you remember our kitchen with that hole in the wall and how we realized the wall was made with chicken wire and newspaper!?!? Ahhh, the memories.

Leave a Reply

