The good, the bad, and the ugly…

Thank you for all the kind inquiries regarding the sale of our home, and my experiment with running.

Here’s a little update of sorts…

On the housing front, the good news is our new counter tops were just installed and they are lovely. We really think they will improve our “WOW” factor and help when we show the house.

The bad news is we haven’t shown the house yet. We haven’t even had ONE phone call regarding possibly someone even wanting to look in the windows. Although it is still early, I admit, I’m a bit TENSE.

The ugly news is that when I’m tense, I turn into the absent minded professor. I have officially lost my own set of keys to the cars and house, then I lost Ben’s van key, and this morning, I threw HIS keys in the trash with the papers I cleaned out of my bottomless pit of a purse. After 20 minutes of frantic searching for the very last set of keys to BOTH cars, I finally found them in the trash. Disgusting, embarrassing, and just WRONG.

About running, the good news is I can officially run 2.5 miles without stopping– when there is no site of any sort of hill, and when my IPOD is loudly blasting in my ear.

The bad news is, Ben still has to shove me out the door, I never want to do it, and my 5K is a little over 2 weeks away. I really wanted to be farther along in the mind over matter part of running by now, not to mention hoping I would have run the entire distance at least once by this point.

The ugly is the type of mind games I have to play with myself while I’m running. I literally have to lost all sense of myself in order to block out the part of my brain that is screaming, “What the heck! What the heck!!! Stop this insanity you loser!!!”(I’m not exaggerating here…) My new one is to try and learn how to sing the base lines of songs instead of the melody, or trying to predict the chord progressions, which on a couple of Sting tunes is a real mind bender.

There you have it, and thanks for caring about our little lives here.

3 thoughts on “The good, the bad, and the ugly…

  1. I want to try running too. But I haven’t wanted to try hard enough to actually do it. Yet.

    thanks for the realistic description ; )

    Our house never showed for 3 months. I showed it to a guy at my garage sale, which I think was a pretty big violation to my realtor, but c’mon, wasn’t like she had done anything for us. It’s been shown about 6 times in the last 3 years. The last time it was shown we found out our renters have FOUR dogs. Yeah, it didn’t go well.

    It might not go the way you planned. It probably won’t go the way you planned. But it will go according to God’s plan. So relax. I PROMISE it will be okay, no matter what.

  2. I am with ya on the running thing. Everytime the alarm goes off, I think to myself. “I am an idiot, why am I doing this?!?” Every time. It has to get easier, someday?!?

    Hope stuff on the houseing front goes quick and smooth!

  3. Wow! Look at you! You’re doing great! I’m so proud of you being able to run that far. I absolutely love your diversions! very clever!
    Sorry to hear about the house. Maybe it’ll look up soon.

Leave a Reply

