Something to chew on…

Hunky Hubby and I are reading Timothy Keller’s The Reason for God – Belief in an Age of Skepticism. It is proving to be all it was lauded to be. We are both enjoying it. I just finished reading a great chapter, “How could a good God allow suffering?” (Just to “keep it real” I read it while the kiddos were enjoying a classic episode of Superman!)

This quote particularly resonated with me:

The Biblical view of things is resurrection – not a future that is just a consolation for the life we never had but a restoration of the life you always wanted. This means that every horrible thing that ever happened will not only be undone and repaired but will in some way make the eventual glory and joy even greater.

And later a quote by Dostoevsky illustrating with even more richness this same point:

I believe like a child that suffering will be healed and made up for, that all the humiliating absurdity of human contradictions will vanish like a pitiful mirage, like the despicable fabrication of the impotent and infinitely small Euclidean mind of man, that in the world’s finale, at the moment of eternal harmony, something so precious will come to pass that it will suffice for all hearts, for the comforting of all resentments, for the atonement of all the crimes of humanity, of all the blood that they’ve shed; that will make it not only possible to forgive but to justify all that has happened.

I believe this with my whole heart, but my whole body and mind struggle against it every day. My body and mind spend countless hours figuring out to protect myself and my loved ones from experiencing any form of pain, and suffering – even just discomfort and embarrassment. All must be avoided, because suffering it too hard, and even if there is relief, the wounds are too hard to carry with us for the rest of our lives.

This leads to a very fearful and anxious heart and a lot of lost momentum in living out dreams, not to mention fulfilling the great commission. As Easter has just passed, and the resurrection is still on my heart,  it seems natural to spend the next little while meditating on this power and potential I’m so quick to dismiss.

The implications of being less fearful and anxious for myself and my family, are worth the investment.

Lastly, AMEN for Jesus –  and that precious returning we are all awaiting.

Leave a Reply

