Resolutions

Just so you don’t think I have not even the tiniest desire to grow in the New Year… I will share with you my New Year’s Resolution. (Notice this is a singular resolution.)

But first, wouldn’t you like to know what the word resolution means?

  • the subsidence of swelling or other signs of inflammation (especially in a lung)
  • (music) a dissonant chord is followed by a consonant chord
  • OK – I’m getting to it…

  • a decision to do something or to behave in a certain manner
  • There are of course, many areas of my life which would benefit from some commitment on my part to behave in a “certain manner.” But, there is only one I feel convicted by the Lord to commit to. The others may have spurts of effort periodically – but this one… I want you to ask me about.

    I resolve to kneel in prayer, at my bedside, every night before bed to bring before the Lord my husband and children (and hopefully a smattering of others – but I’m not resolving on that one.)

    Sounds silly doesn’t it, but truthfully, prayer is a struggle for me. I used to journal faithfully, which was great. But these days I usually read the Word and walk away, offering prayers throughout the day in a very random and sporadic manner. I’ll keep these up too, of course, but I do feel like I need some time set apart to concentrate on Jesus and the needs of the family.

    I mean it – please ask me about this!

    One thought on “Resolutions

    1. I want to do this too, but I’m afraid that I”m so tired before bedtime that it will be a waste. Maybe I should kneel before i start my day when I’m fresh(er). Or maybe after my first cup of coffee….or….see? This is the problem that I have getting started! I guess I just need to pick one & try!!!

    Leave a Reply

    