O Come

I look forward to singing, “O Come, O Come, Emmanuel” each Advent season. Apart from the beautiful melody, it’s text is rich with yearning and hope. My favorite verse –

Oh, come, our Dayspring from on high,
And cheer us by your drawing nigh,
Disperse the gloomy clouds of night,
And death’s dark shadows put to flight.
Rejoice! Rejoice! Emmanuel
Shall come to you, O Israel!

 

Each time I sing these words, I feel the longing in my heart for Jesus to come – as the baby in the manger, as the Lord of my little life, and for His glorious and triumphant return. There is something so intimate about asking Jesus to come. The painful need for Him stings when I sing. I hate asking Him to come, but if I don’t, I know I’ll regret it. I’d rather not bother Him. I’d rather go along my merry way. As soon as I choke out those words, “…come,” I realize how desperate of a plea this really is for me. What would happen if He didn’t come, if I couldn’t count on His promised return?

Then, just as I’m about to burst into tears of fright and despair, we hit the refrain.

  Rejoice! Rejoice! Emmanuel
Shall come to you, O Israel!

After a few days of near Bahumbugging joylessness, I’m ready to rejoice. He did come – as the baby in the manger. He does come, into my little life. He will come – gloriously and triumphantly from the heavens.

Rejoice – what a good word. It’s a combination of remember and joy. And so, shall we all spend these next advent days remembering with joy who Jesus was, is, and will be together? 

Please take a moment to post a comment on something joyfully remembered – and I’ll post them all here on Sassy Pants in a few days! 

“Let us encourage each another, and all the more as we see the day approaching!” Hebrews 10:25

Come on, leave me a little bloggy love! 🙂

 

2 thoughts on “O Come

  1. I joyfully remember seeing Dwight in ‘Sweeney Todd’ and I look forward to the movie coming out this Friday!!!

    Seriously, I joyfully remember how God pulled our marriage out of the pit & gave us a fresh start. I serve a God with Ressurection power!!!

  2. San Antonio Megan says:

    I am exceeding grateful to God for allowing me to remember joyful Christmas times with my parents and extended family. It has helped so much as we put the pieces back together of our broken relationship. Things are getting better…. stay tuned….

Leave a Reply

