The bonds of sisterly stress

The longer I do this blog the more I get this sense of some sort of fluid community developing around me. Some blogs I visit regularly are written by people I don’t know at all, but I feel “virtually” connected to them. Some people park themselves at my blog for a few weeks and then journey away to find someone else to read for a while – I do the same. It’s fun to “lurk” around people’s thoughts, and equally fun to stretch out the hand of cyber-friendship in the form of an encouraging comment. I love to read about the lives of people who are similar to me in life stage and worldview, but I also can’t live without some of the ladies I’ve discovered who really challenge me and think very differently from me.

Something that has been heavy on my heart lately is the string that seems to tie all of the blog-mommies I know together and that is financial stress. There are many of us who are praying for miracle money to drop out of God’s hands, and who are struggling to release stress and anxiety.

I don’t pretend to have any answers to this issue here. I’m in the same boat, although I’m sure I have it much easier than some. We live on a very tight budget – tighter now that we’ve chosen to send our daughter to a private school, but we have parents who spoil us rotten and so very often we are treated to things we couldn’t afford ourselves. These treats keep our spirits up, and make us feel the pinch a little less often than we might otherwise. Anyway, I still do struggle with fear about the future and our finances.

I’ve been thinking about starting a theme for my Friday posts – something that would encourage the people who read Sassy Pants. Maybe it should be something around this issue? There are thousands of sites on how to live frugally – THANK GOODNESS… I read them faithfully. But maybe something more along the lines of keeping an eternal, realistic, and hopeful heart in the midst of a financially frugal, or strained even, life.

I’ll be praying about that – and for you. You who are reading this blog and worrying about whether or not you’ll be able to pay your mortgage this month, or afford the juice boxes your daughter would like to have in her lunch…You who’s husband is facing job loss, and you who’s child is sick and incurring doctor fees no one knows who will pay. I’ll be praying for you. I promise.

One thought on “The bonds of sisterly stress

  1. Cindy says:

    WOW! thank you for sharing your heart. I truthfully have no clue how I found your blog. But I so appreciate your honesty. Money is such a heavy issue in our home, or should I say “lack of money”. Its stressful, frustrating, irritating, and humbling. You are right many of us do wait, hope and look expectantly for God to drop it to us. Unfortunately He doesn’t always work like that, sometimes it just Him wanting us to be faithful in our trusting. Thats where it gets really hard. . . .rents, mortgages, groceries, car repairs, bills, etc. Its hard to trust, and trust with our whole hearts that God will do what He says He will do! Take care of our needs, provide for them. Thank you for stepping out and voicing what alot of people think and feel. I am looking forward to your Friday Blogs. Cindy

Leave a Reply

